• Religious
  • Laity


In accordance with Veritatis Gaudium Art. 74, the curriculum of studies at PVP comprises of three successive Cycles at University level, as the following.
1. First Cycle – Institutional Course
2. Second Cycle – Specialization
3. Third Cycle – Doctoral Research

1. First Cycle

The First Cycle of studies consists of five/six years which is divided into two stages.

a. The first stage comprises of two/three years, during which the students will be given courses in languages (English and Malayalam), principal philosophical subjects and some initiation courses in Scripture, Liturgy and Spirituality. The possibility is given to the students at this stage to appear for the B.A. Philosophy examination at the Mahatma Gandhi University or Indira Gandhi National Open University.

b. The second stage comprises of three years. During this stage the students shall be given courses properly required for the Baccalaureate in Theology (B.Th).

c. Ministerial Year: A special diploma of the Ministerial Year is awarded to the students for the priesthood, who have completed the prescribed Pastoral Courses in addition to the three-year basic cycle of Theology (cfr New Norms on Affiliation, Aggregation and Incorporation, 8 December 2020, Article 29§2; VG 76§2).



2. Second Cycle

Those who attain the Baccalaureate in Theology can proceed to the courses for Licentiate in Theology (L.Th.) comprising of two years of studies according to the prescription of the ‘Norms of application’ of Veritatis gaudium Art. 55.2, and the programme conducted for the Licentiate in Eastern Canon Law.

3. Third Cycle

The candidate for Doctorate, besides doing the courses prescribed, shall do research work on a theme approved by the Syndicate and prepare a dissertation under the direction of a professor approved for it by the Syndicate. The Doctor’s Degree can be conferred only after the publication, at least in part, of the doctoral dissertation.

  • Diploma Courses
  • Certificate Courses

I Sacred Scripture

Introduction to the Bible


Historical Books

Book of Psalms &

 Wisdom Literature

Classical Prophets

Synoptic Gosples

Johannine Literature

Acts of the Apostles

Pauline Epistles

Book of Revelation

II Systematic Theology

Introduction to Theology

Revelation and Faith


The Mystery of the Euchatist

Theological Anthropology



Ecumenism in the Indian Context

Laity in the Church – Vat II

Theology of Religions

Missiology in India

III Liturgy

Introduction to Liturgy

Liturgy of the Hours

Sacraments of Initiation

Theology of Syro-Malabar Qurbana

Sacraments of Healing

Syro-Malabar Martimony

Liturgical Year

IV Moral Theology

Fundamental Moral Theology

Marriage and Family

Theology of Sexuality

Catholic Bioethics

Justice and Truthfulness


V Fathers of the Church

Syriac Fathers

Greek Fathers

Latin Fathers

VI Canon Law



Particular Laws of the Syro Malabar

VII Church History and Oriental Sciences

General & Indian Church History

Oriental Churches

Mar Thoma Margam

Spirituality of The Eastern Fathers

1. Online Diploma Course on Theology.

2. Online Diploma Course on Theology in Diocese of Shamsabad.

3. Online Diploma Course on Theology in Diocese of Melbourne Australia).

4. Online Diploma Course on Theology in the Diocese of Chicago.

5. Online Diploma Course on New Testament in the Diocese of Chicago.

6. Certificate Course on Biblical Spirituality.

7. Certificate Course on Bible (for the Laity).

8. Diploma Course on Eucharistic Theology conducted by MCBS Provincilate, Kollad, Kottayam.

9. Diploma Course on Pastoral Theology for Consecrated persons and Lay people conducted by MCBS Provincialate, Kollad.

10. Certificate Course on Theology at Mar Sleeva Institute of Theology, Eparchy of Idukki.

11. Diploma in Theology conducted at Chaithanya Pastoral Centre Thellakom, Archeparchy of Kottayam.